Final list of artists announced for the 10th Annual Decibel Festival


2012 marked Decibel’s largest edition to date, bringing in over 26,000 attendees across 50 unique events. As curator and founder, I am proud to report that though the magnitude of Decibel has changed over the years, the integrity and creative vision of the festival has not. After 10 years, Decibel remains a grassroots, volunteer-run festival focusing on underground and experimental forms of electronic music and visual art from around the globe. We also continue to offer a free educational forum, for what is now a well established community of producers, deejays, visual artists, writers and professionals looking to interact with artists, companies and media outlets that share their common interests (The 2013 dB Conference program will be announced on August 20th).

Looking ahead to our 10 year anniversary program, we have made great strides to bring together our most complete program to date. From past highlights (e.g. Moby, Green Velvet, Speedy J feat. Scott Pagano, Mount Kimbie, Nils Frahm),  to Decibel debuts (e.g. Nicolas Jaar feat. Tarik Barri, Art Department, Neon IndianThe Orb, Ben Klock, Machinedrum Vapor City LiveDiamond Version feat. Alva Noto & Byetone, Zola Jesus feat. JG Thirlwell & The Minos Quartet), to emerging talent (e.g. Lorde, XXYYXXDusky, Ryan Hemsworth, Lapalux), to regional luminaries (e.g. Cyril Hahn, Shabazz Palaces, Teen DazeThe Helio Sequence, Lusine, Pezzner, The Sight Below) this year’s program will offer quality, leading-edge audio/visual performance, installation, film and education throughout. Be it our live club showcases, OPTICAL seated events, dB Conference, after-hours, dB in the Park or boat parties, the 2013 Decibel Festival will once again offer something for everyone regardless of musical preference, age or background.

Without further adieu, it gives us great pleasure to announce the initial 10th Annual Decibel Festival program. This announcement includes

Moby – DJ set (US) // Nicolas Jaar feat. Tarik Barri (US / CL / NL) // Zedd (DE) // The Orb (UK / DE) // Flosstradamus (US) // Art Department (Kenny Glasgow) (CA) // Lorde (NZ) // Peter Hook & The Light performing Power, Corruption & Lies and Movement (UK) // Neon Indian – DJ set (US) // Ben Klock (DE) // Diamond Version feat. Alva Noto & Byetone (DE) // Green Velvet (US) // Gold Panda (UK) // Speedy J feat. Scott Pagano (NL / US) // Little Boots (UK) // Wax Tailor (FR) // Machinedrum Vapor City Live (US / DE) // Henrik Schwarz (DE) // XXYYXX (US) // Cajmere (US) // Zola Jesus feat. JG Thirlwell & The Minos Quartet (US / AU) // Aeroplane (BE) // Olafur Arnalds (IS) // Derrick Carter (US) // Mount Kimbie (UK) // JETS (US / DE) // The Martinez Brothers (US) // Shabazz Palaces (US) // Nosaj Thing (UK) // Hauschka (DE) // Ame (DE) // Blockhead (US) // Alex Metric (UK) // Actress (UK) // KiNK (BG) // Kode9 (UK) // Dusky (UK) // Jimmy Edgar (US / DE) // Ben UFO (UK) // Cyril Hahn (CH / CA) // Pearson Sound (UK) // Juan Atkins (US) // PillowTalk (US) // Maxxi Soundsystem (UK) // Matias Aguayo (CL / DE) // The Helio Sequence (US) // Little People (CH / UK) // Max Cooper (UK) // Ryan Hemsworth (CA) // Phaeleh (UK) // Nils Frahm (DE) // Mano Le Tough (IE / DE) // Oren Ambarchi (AU) // Tim Green (UK) // ODESZA (US) // Ikonika (UK) // Slow Magic (US) // Thomas Fehlmann (DE) // Teebs (US) // Tiger & Woods (IT) // THEESatisfaction (US) // Kyle Hall (US) // Shigeto (US) // John Tejada (US) // Midland (UK) // Lapalux (UK) // Dirty Beaches (CA) // OLIVER (US) // ADULT. (US) // Lorn (US) // Waifs & Strays (UK) // Ejeca (IE) // Giraffage (US) // Evian Christ (UK) // MNDR (US) // Teen Daze (CA) // The Loops of Fury (US) // Axel Boman (SE) // Young Galaxy (CA) // DJ Rashad (US) // Lusine (US) // Light Asylum (US) // Gent & Jawns (US) // Pezzner (US) // Pangaea (UK) // Vessel (UK) // Beacon (US) // Timeboy (US) // Oliveray (DE / US) // The Sight Below (US) // Haxan Cloak (US) // Light Year (AU) // Dauwd (UK) // Natasha Kmeto (US) // Tomas Barfod (DK) // Blondes (US) // Henry Krinkle (CN / US) // Raime (UK) // Luke Abbott (UK) // Peter Broderick (US / DE) // Big Black Delta (US) // Archie Pelago (US) // Nick Monaco (US) // Astronomar (US) // Kid Smpl (US) // J. Alvarez (US) // Pharmakon (US) // Natural Magic (US) // MORRI$ (US) // Kingdom Crumbs (US) // DJ Dials vs. DJ Bogl (US) // Nightmare Fortress (US) // DJAO (US) // Avneesh (SG) // D Tiberio (US) // Ghost Feet (US) // Jimi Jaxon (US) // Brandy Gray (US) // Tracer (US) // Vox Mod (US) // Zachariah Walker (UK) // Joel Pryde (US) // Leo Mayberry (US) // Domokos (US) // Baryonyx (US) // Riff-Raff (US) + MORE TO BE ANNOUNCED

Over the coming weeks we will be following up with several key event announcements, several of which have become synonymous with Decibel over the past decade. These include

  • The 10th Annual dB Conference (3 full days of educational and business oriented activities, all included with the Decibel Pass)
  • The Decibel Boat Parties (3 afternoon boat cruises featuring deejays performing at the 2013 Decibel Festival)
  • dB in the Park (free park event, which will be announced later this month)
  • dB Films (film series showcasing documentaries and live film soundtracks, all included with the Decibel Pass)
  • dB Poster Show (we’ll be hosting a dB Poster Show highlighting both past design and new works to celebrate our 10th edition)
  • dB DJ Lounge (based at a prime downtown location, dB attendees will be invited to dine, drink and dance at this free lounge)

For more information on the 10th Annual Decibel Festival, please visit us online at 

dBx site

Decibel is also a proud member of I.C.A.S. Network. International Cities of Advanced Sound (ICAS) is a global network of independent non-profit organizations dedicated to advancing sound cultures, music and related arts.